In 1870, Selah Lester bought the 18th century farmhouse from Captain Janothan Barnes who built the saltbox style home in Amagansett in 1725. After purchasing the three acre parcel of land from sawmill owner Cybil Dominy, Selah Lester moved the house during the winter of 1875-76 from Amagansett to its current location on Cedar Street in East Hampton. The farmhouse has remained in the Lester family for four generations.
Selah Lester built a barn on the property in the 1880’s, shortly after his family moved into the house. He is likely to have used the barn to store horse-drawn wagons, farming tools and equipment.
The East Hampton Town Community Preservation Fund is underwriting the barn’s current restoration. After the restoration has been complete, the barn will be used to display antique farm tools, horse drawn wagons and farming equipment and will be used to the museum’s special exhibits.
The East Hampton Historical Farm Museum seeks to deepen the understanding of East Hampton history during the 1880’s through the 1930’. It places a unique focus on the lifestyles of generations of the local residents; farmers, baymen and local craftmen (known as "Bonackers").
The museum includes the restored Lester Farmhouse and its barn. It is set on three acres of land that was once "common ground" where early settlers grazed their sheep and cattle during the 1700’s.